NAAC: Preserving quality of education
1st January 1970
Education plays a pivotal role in the development of a nation. And today, we are in the era of quality and excellence of education. India's education system has developed at a fast pace. Its higher education system is ranked third largest in the world, where it has become necessary to preserve the authenticity of higher education of the country.

So to enhance the quality of higher education, the University Grant Commission (UGC) decided to make accreditation mandatory for all the colleges and universities coming under its horizon. All universities, institutions of higher learning and colleges in the country are urged to obtain accreditation certificates from National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), Bangalore, to get funds from the UGC for various academic and research programmes. .

National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) an autonomous body was established by the University Grants Commission (UGC) in 1994. It was carried out on the recommendations of National Policy of Education, 1986 and the Programme of Action (POA), 1992 which lay special emphasis on evaluating the quality of higher education in India. The prime consent of NAAC is to assess and accredit institutions of higher learning in terms of its performance, related to the educational processes and outcomes, covering the curriculum, teaching-learning, evaluation, faculty, research, infrastructure, learning resources, organization, governance, financial well being and student services. Accreditation has facilitated the institutions to identify their strengths and weaknesses. It has initiated to acknowledge innovative and modern methods of teaching. .

There is a wide process for assessment and accreditation of the institutions. The steps to the process are: On-line submission of the Letter of Intent (LOI), On-line submission of Institutional Eligibility for Quality Assessment (IEQA) for applicable institutions, Preparation of Self-study Report (SSR), it's uploading on the institution website and submission to NAAC, Peer team visit to the institution, Final decision by NAAC. It is a systematic and objective process of assessment to get a clear and translucent result. .

NAAC has identified few criterions for assessment that gives an enclosure to the institutions to which they need to work on. The criteria to be served are on the basis of Curricular activities, Teaching-Learning and Evaluation, Research and Consultancy and Extension, Infrastructure and Learning Resources, Student Support and Progression, Governance, Leadership and Management, Innovations and Best Practices. And on the basis of these criterions the institutions are graded on the newly adopted grading method i.e. CGPA (Cumulative Grade Point Average). CGPA refers to the weightage of total value of graded points based on quality parameter. There are 36 key aspects of each criterion which are to be used as guidelines. The key aspects also have their relative importance in the context of type of institution (University, Autonomous College, and Affiliated College). The grade points allotted on the basis of key aspects and each criterion has two outcomes. The two outcomes of assessment and accreditation are Peer Team Report (qualitative part of judgment) and Institutional Grading (quantitative part of judgment). And the final result is awarded with a Letter Grade and a Performance Descriptor, based on the CGPA earned by each institution.

Range of institutional Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) Letter Grade Performance Descriptor
3.01 - 4.00AVery Good
2.01 - 3.00BGood
1.51 - 2.00CSatisfactory
(Not accredited)

Institutions securing a CGPA (Cumulative Grade Point Average) less than or equal to 1.50 i.e. (D- Unsatisfactory) will be intimated and notified by the NAAC as "assessed and found not qualified for accreditation". And the accreditation status is valid for five years from the date of approval by the Executive Committee of the NAAC.